NC State - BME

Campus Box 7115

911 Oval Drive, 
Raleigh, NC 27695

Tel. 919-513-3840

  • clear_ncsu_unc
  • CLEAR Core LinkedIn
  • CLEAR Instagram
Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
NC State


December 3, 2019

BME Assistant Professor Matt Fisher has been named one of the 2020 Rising Stars by the Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Special Interest Group within BMES, Biomedical Engineering Society. Awardees provide a podium presentation in a special session at the annual conference. 2020 Rising Star Awards will be presented January 2nd - 6th in Puerto Rico. 

The BMES Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering Special Interest Group brings together researchers with diverse scientific and clinical interests with a common goal of understanding and engineering molecules, cells, their interactions and microenvironments in the pursuit of controlling biological processes and improving the practice of medicine.  Because CMBE SIG is committed to supporting new investigators within the field, the “Rising Star” award is given to a select group of exceptional junior principal investigators each year.

October 31, 2019

On Friday, September 27th BME faculty, staff, and students reconnected at the BME Annual Retreat at the North Carolina Biotechnology Center. As part of the event, the annual Departmental awards were announced. Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Lianne Cartee received this year’s Faculty Award. Administrative Assistant to the Director of Research Catherine Matthieu received the Departmental Service Award, for her exceptional work in grant support, communication and the Graduate program review. The Graduate Student Service Award went to Maurel Vrabel, a doctoral student in Dr. Zaharoff’s Lab. Student poster awards were sponsored by the BME Graduate Student Association. In the Scientific Quality category, first place went to Emily Ozpinar (Freytes Lab). In the Presentation/Communication category, first place went to Rahul Patel (Giovannucci Lab). In the Poster Design category, first place went to Kristina Riviera (Magness Lab).

September 25, 2019

Dr. Huang discusses her ongoing research projects at UNC, NREL, and the promise of using Motor Units to operate powered prostheses.

August 27, 2019

The Closed-Loop Engineering Research (CLEAR) core (, consisting of faculty members at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH) and North Carolina State University (NC State), is seeking two postdoctoral fellows to participate in a new training program, Combined Human and Rehabilitative Machine System (CHARMS).  The fellows will be supported by an Advanced Rehabilitation Research and Training award provided by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research.  The goal of the program is to develop the next generation of rehabilitation researchers by focusing on training in three areas: mechanics, controls, and perception.  Each postdoctoral fellow will be mentored by a team of faculty members spanning these areas. 

The postdoctoral fellow will be able to explore opportunities at North Carolina’s two flagship universities: the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH) and North C...

April 4, 2019

Lindsay Sullivan and Aaron Fleming, graduate students in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering and two of the 3 founders of Open Gait Prosthetics competed in the 2019 NC State LuLu eGames that includes two rounds with six category options. They won both the New Venture and Crowd Favorite categories with their product that provides affordable prosthetic kits for above-knee amputees in developing countries.  To learn more about their venture please use this link

The Lulu eGames is NC State’s annual startup competition, awarding over $100k to NC State entrepreneurs. The competition includes two rounds with six categories options: New Venture, Design & Prototype, Social and Environmental Impact, Arts Venture, Built on Cloud and Daugherty Endowment. The eGames is made possible by a generous gift from  online publishing company

March 13, 2019

This is record year for CLEAR core faculty who have 8 PhD Candidates Defending their Thesis' this spring and summer.  Congratulations to all!

From Jacque Cole's Lab - Nicholas Hanne plans to do a postdoctoral fellowship in academia and currently still applying.

From Matt Fisher's Lab - Stephanie Cone will be starting her postdoctoral fellowship at University of Wisconsin in the Neuromuscular Biomechanics Lab with Dr. Darryl Thelen. - Paul Warren is seeking an R&D scientist or engineer role within the biotechnology space.

From Jason Franz's Lab - Michael Browne has accepted a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. Ryan Roemmich's group that spans the Center for Movement Studies at the Kennedy Krieger Institute and the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Johns Hopkins University.

From Helen Huang's Lab - Andy Brandt has accepted a position in industry. - Yue Wen plans to do a postdoctoral fellowship in academia and currently still applying.

From Xiaogang Hu's lab - Henry Shin will...

December 14, 2018

Year in review begins with an outstanding year for published journal articles.

Check them out here

August 23, 2018

Dr. Jacque Cole, Assistant Professor in the Joint Department Biomedical Engineering at NC

State and UNC-CH, has won an NSF award to acquire a new X-ray nano-computed tomography (nano-CT) instrument which will be located within the AIF. 

Read the article here

August 9, 2018

CLEAR Labs are well represented @ ASB2018 in Rochester Minnesota

Check them out here


Please reload

  • CLEAR on LinkedIn
  • CLEAR on Twitter
Follow Us